The Stephen Lawn TB-HIV Research Leadership Prize

You are here:

The Stephen Lawn TB-HIV Research Leadership Prize

Published on


About the Stephen Lawn Memorial Fund

The Stephen Lawn Memorial Fund was established in 2016 through a global partnership between the TB Centre of the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (UK), the Desmond Tutu HIV Centre, at the University of  Cape Town, South Africa and The Union, also supported by The Lancet. 

Nominations are closed for this prize until 2021.

The Research Leadership Prize, as part of the Fund, is for innovative research on tuberculosis and HIV in sub-Saharan Africa, and acknowledges young researchers conducting promising work focused on reducing the disease burden of TB and HIV/AIDS in Africa. The Prize will be presented annually at the Union World Conference on Lung Health and consists of:

  • A full fellowship to attend the conference (including full delegate badge, travel, accommodation and per diem).
  • An award of GBP 1,000, and a certificate.
  • A profile/news item by The Lancet.
  • An invitation to attend the Stephen Lawn Memorial Lecture in March of the next year (alternating London and Cape Town) with an opportunity for the winner to present their work in a seminar, and network with colleagues.

Nominees for The Stephen Lawn TB-HIV Research Prize will be clinicians and/or researchers from any country who have completed post-graduate training (MPH, PhD, MD or post-doc) no longer than five years ago, who are under 40 years old at the time of the Union World Conference and who have successfully undertaken innovative research that is expected to impact on TB / HIV in Sub-Saharan Africa.  Results of this research may be published OR unpublished. 

Criteria for selection

The Stephen Lawn TB/HIV Research Leadership Prize will be administered by The Union. The global honoree will be selected by a panel of leading experts organised by The Union and the above partner organisations. Nominees will be assessed on:

  • The innovative component of their research as well as its scientific rigor and quality.
  • The potential impact of their work on TB-HIV in Sub-Saharan Africa.
  • The extent to which the award might contribute to furthering the applicant's work and leadership in the fight against TB-HIV.


2019: Dr Sean Wasserman, Senior Lecturer and Consultant in the Division of Infectious Diseases and HIV Medicine in the Department of Medicine at the University of Cape Town was awarded the 2019 award. Dr Wasserman is an outstanding investigator who has already made impactful contributions in the field of TB-HIV research.

2018: Last year’s winner is Dr Christine Sekaggya-Wiltshire, who leads the HIV-TB clinic at the Infectious Diseases Institute at Makerere University in Kampala. Dr Sekaggya-Wiltshire supervises care for complex cases of TB that are referred from health centres, and has conducted pharmacokinetic studies on anti-TB drugs in HIV patients.

2017: The inaugural Stephen Lawn TB-HIV Research Leadership Prize was awarded in at the 48th Union Conference on Lung Health to Dr Leo Martinez for contributions to reducing the burden of TB and HIV/AIDS in Africa.